Creating an online portfolio

Standard

Starting a portfolio in high school can help students get scholarships, be prepared for the college setting and be more likely to get internships. I was forced to make a portfolio when I was a photographer for my high school. At the time, I thought I wouldn’t want or need it. I find myself regretting not to update it for the last two years. I wouldn’t have much to add but having a resume handy online will help me get internship. 

Websites like Wix, WordPress and Weebly Kent State suspends fraternity: are user friendly ways to create a portfolio. During an interview, a potential employer could easily pull up a portfolio. It should include a resume, about me and a few pieces of work. Quality over quantity. Today, it is better to have a wide variety of multimedia pieces. Videos, audio pieces and photos should be included. 

I used Weebly for mine. You can 100% customize what the pages look like and easily add multimedia pieces. Not to mention it is free! I would recommend starting early. Put whatever pieces you have on it and keep updating it as your work gets better! 

Check out my photography site at ashleybrophy.weebly.com

Leave a comment